This music with all of you

This music with all of you (2011) (8′)

I. Prelude
II. Dance
III. Dirge
IV. Changüí en F

Evan C. Paul and Jacob Walls, pianos, November 19, 2013.

This music with all of you is comprised of two pensive movements (I, III) and two dance movements (II, IV), but I’ve almost had it both ways: the pensive movements are rhythmically animated and the dance movements (as vibrant and celebratory as they are!) retain a tinge of melancholy. The synthesis of loss and joy is a common enough thread in music, but what brought forth the specific dramatic content of this piece was that in the year it was written I was mourning the loss of a close friend and teacher and also spending a good deal of time studying Cuban music. (Hence the fourth movement’s tip of the hat to the changüí genre.) I hope this piece conveys the enthusiasm and infectiousness of a life well lived, whether we are remembering a life now pertaining to the past or dancing a life still pertaining to the present.